A New Year’s Resolution

Most of us still honor the change over to the new year with the traditional count down and ‘ball drop’  though that doesn’t mean we become aware of the change itself.

For me, the change begins with the first check I write.  Because it has to reflect the new date and that means remembering that the year has changed.  But how I hang on to last year!  I keep forgetting to change the date, sometimes well into February!

Stuck in 2016 or any part of the past is never good.  Not so much because it’s the past, but because of being stuck –often stuck in the worst parts of the past, repeating the same mistakes, worrying about the same issues, grieving the same infractions.  We’d like to stop but that means changes.  Changes, large and small is often difficult.  It is hard to let go of what we are used to, of who we are used to being.  The challenge –and the hope– of a new year is to do just that,  to accept that with the drop of a ball, the stroke of a pen, the passing of the last second, change happens.

A familiar passage from the Book of Lamentations, Chapter 3, verses 22-23, tells us that “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; God’s mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning…”  This encourages us to get unstuck from the past and embrace the future with new hope.  If this can be done every morning, it can certainly be done in the new year.

I’m not one for resolutions, simply because I’m just as bad at keeping track of them as I am at changing the date on my checks.  But I do resolve to let God renew me in love at every opportunity, so that I can let go of the past with grace and live into the future with hope.

Always, in Christ,

Susan+

Leave a Reply

